One of many stops on the Historical Trail. Experience the history of the Oranienstadt Dillenburg at first hand!
The hiking portal for the Rothaarsteig and the Westerwaldsteig is also located here.
The first records of the Hofgarten (meaning ‘courtyard garden’) date back to 1489. However, this once expansive kitchen and pleasure garden, which borders with the castle’s grounds, quickly became smaller and less impressive as a result of its increasing use as a site for construction from the 18th century, when the houses were built on Wilhelmstraße. The area that remains, with the richly adorned iron gateway and the orangery, gives the modern beer garden a somewhat feudal atmosphere.
The first records of the Hofgarten (meaning ‘courtyard garden’) date back to 1489.